Editors and Developers


Colin Ophus is a staff scientist at NCEM, part of the Molecular Foundry, at Lawrence Berkeley Lab. He runs both a research group and user program focused on methods, algorithms, and codes for simulation, analysis and instrument design for STEM and TEM. He has received a US DOE Early Career award (2018) and was awarded the Burton Medal from the Microscopy Society of America (2022). He is project leader for the Prismatic STEM simulation and py4DSTEM open-source codes. (cophus@gmail.com)

Editorial Board

Beth Dickey is the Department Head and Teddy and Wilton Hawkins Distinguished Professor of the Materials Science and Engineering department at Carnegie Mellon. She is a Fellow of the Microscopy Society of America and of the American Ceramic Society, and is a member of the World Academy of Ceramics. (ecdickey@cmu.edu)

Georgios Varnavides is a Miller Fellow postdoc working at the University of California, Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (gvarnavides@berkeley.edu )

We are currently recruiting additional members of the editorial board! Contact Colin Ophus if you are interested.


The Elemental Microscopy journal was developed by the Curvenote team and built with open source MyST Markdown components.

Rowan Cockett is the CEO and co-founder of Curvenote, which is an interactive, online writing and publishing platform for science, with dedicated integrations to Jupyter. Rowan is a core developer of MyST Markdown and has a Ph.D. in computational geophysics from the University of British Columbia (UBC) where he worked on large-scale simulation and parameter estimation package for geophysical processes (electromagnetics, fluid-flow, gravity, etc.).

The larger Curvenote team including Steve Purves, Franklin Koch and Mike Morrison have been in involved in the design and development of Elemental Microscopy.

Open Source Technologies

This journal leverages the vast ecosystem of open source software, especially Python, NumPy, SciPy, IPyWidgets, Jupyter, JupyterBook, and MyST Markdown.